'Ferreira' in the Albion Dock, Surrey Commercial Docks, London by unknown

'Ferreira' in the Albion Dock, Surrey Commercial Docks, London

unknown

Fine art poster

More products…
  • Amazing giclée print quality
  • 280gsm thick fine art print paper
  • 100+ year colour guarantee
  • Dimensions:
    • x cm including border ( x in)
    • x cm excluding border ( x in)
£14.95

Image information

Add to wishlist
Close

Our prints

We use a 280gsm fine art paper and premium branded inks to create the perfect reproduction.

Our expertise and use of high-quality materials means that our print colours are independently verified to last between 100 and 200 years.

Read more about our fine art prints.

Manufactured in the UK

All products are printed in the UK, using the latest digital presses and a giclée printmaking process.

We only use premium branded inks, and colours are independently verified to last between 100 and 200 years.

Delivery & returns

We print everything to order so delivery times may vary but all unframed prints are despatched within 2-4 days via courier or recorded mail.

Delivery to the UK is £5 for an unframed print of any size.

We will happily replace your order if everything isn’t 100% perfect.

'Ferreira' in the Albion Dock, Surrey Commercial Docks, London by unknown zoom

'Ferreira' in the Albion Dock, Surrey Commercial Docks, London

This ship was initially launched in 1869 as the now famous 'Cutty Sark'. She was involved in the tea trade and from 1885 to 1895 the Australian wool trade but due to the owner's financial problems, was then sold to the Portuguese and renamed the 'Ferreira'. By the early 1920s she was in a sorry state of repair and underwent a refit at London's Surrey Docks. She was discovered by Captain Wilfred Dowman who remembered her from her heyday in the 1880s and bought her from her Portuguese owners to have her restored and re-rigged. After his death in 1938, his widow presented the clipper to the Incorporated Thames Nautical Training College at Greenhithe on the Thames, where she remained until after the Second World War until 1954 when she was moved into a specially constructed dry dock at Greenwich. Her Majesty the Queen opened her to visitors in 1957 and she has been a popular visitor attraction ever since.

  • Image reference: H0425

Discover more

More by the artist unknown.

Explore the collections Cutty Sark, Photography.